Those who sit in the National Assembly in representation of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) are still collecting their full salaries from Parliament Office.

This is the case despite the fact that all PPP/C Members of Parliament (MPs) have boycotted sittings of the National Assembly ever since voting occurred for the Bharrat Jagdeo-sponsored no confidence motion on December 21, 2018.

Following the no confidence motion, several bills were passed in the House without any input from the PPP. Furthermore, the party’s General Secretary, Jagdeo, had indicated that PPP/C MPs will not be attending the upcoming sittings.

Nevertheless, PPP Presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali, indicated that he has collected all payments from December to now. Clarifying him, he said that he believes the money continued to go to his bank account and he would therefore need to check to verify if this is indeed the case.

Ali said that he could not speak for all other MPs from the parliamentary opposition. However, Guyana Standard has been able to confirm with sources at the Parliament Office that no PPP MP has indicated that they will hold on collecting salaries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here