The United States of America Ambassador to Guyana, Ambassador Sarah-Ann Lynch; United Kingdom High Commissioner to Guyana, H.E. Greg Quinn; High Commissioner of Canada to Guyana, H.E. Lilian Chatterjee; and the Head of Delegation of the European Union to Guyana, Ambassador Jernej Videtic today issued a joint statement on the Caribbean Court of Justice’s (CCJ) ruling on the controversial December 21, 2018 No-Confidence Motion against the APNU+AFC Government.

In a brief statement, the officials said, “The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has ruled and it is important that all sides respect that ruling. We also encourage all to come to an agreement on the way forward.”

Earlier today, in several unprecedented rulings, the CCJ declared that the No-Confidence Motion was properly passed against Government in December 2018, having acquired a majority of 33 votes of the 65 members in the National Assembly.

The CCJ rubbished Government’s contention that 34 votes — or in other words, “an absolute majority” — was needed for the motion to be successfully passed. The CCJ determined that since the National Assembly comprised an odd number of 65 persons, “When all the members of the National Assembly are present and vote, all that is necessary is clearly, in the court’s view, at least 33 votes.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here