Chairman of Guyana Power and Light’s (GPL) Board of Directors, Rawle Lucas has resigned from that post. This was confirmed by Minister of Public Works, Juan Edghill who said that “it was the best thing for him (Lucas) to do. Edghill said, “It is an act that I would encourage be followed by all other board members.”

The Minister recalled that the GPL Board was appointed while the APNU+AFC government was reduced to caretaker status.

He said that even withstanding the timing of the appointment of the board, board appointments are usually political and the PPP/C government has been clear that all political appointees will be removed and replaced.

Edghill said, “The government should have a free hand—in—keeping with its policy direction and priorities—to engage the skillsets and the persons we believe can deliver on the commits we have made for these entities.
After more than a year hiatus, a new GPL board was finally appointed June 2019.
The Board was installed by Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson with Lucas as the head. Other members are Reggie Bhagwandin, Kirk Hollingsworth, Morsha Johnson-Francis, Gillian Pollard, Elena Trim, Dr. Mahender Sharma, and Komal Ramnauth.
That board was supposed to serve for two years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here