Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM)’s Public Relations Officer (PRO), Yolanda Ward told media operatives today, that recount of ballots in seven of the 10 electoral districts regions has completed, with five being signed off and certified by stakeholders. This brings the process closer to a conclusion, with almost 600 boxes left to be counted before the end-date, June 13.

The seven electoral districts that have been completed are: Regions One (Barima/Waini); Two (Pomeroon/Supenaam); Three (Essequibo Islands/West Demerara): Five (Mahaica/Berbice); Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni); Eight (Potaro/Siparuni); and Nine (Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo).
Regions One, Two, Three, Five and Seven have already been certified, with Region Eight expected to be certified today, and Region Nine in two days.

Ward reported that as at May 31, some 1,739 boxes were completed, with 598 left to be tallied. She said that 436 boxes remain to be counted for Region Four, 88 for Region Six, and 74 for Region 10.

Of the 12 workstations operating within the Arthur Chung Conference Centre (ACCC), six have been assigned to count boxes in Region Four, and three each for Regions Six and 10.

Ward expressed optimism that the exercise will conclude by June 13, given the current pace of operations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here