The People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) today submitted to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) names of candidates extracted from its List of Candidates, to be Members of the National Assembly.

The 33 Members of Parliament (MPs) include 12 from the Geographic List and 21 from the National Top Up List.

The party said that it Parliamentary team “demonstrates that the PPP/C is truly a national party representing the diversity of Guyana, with all ethnic groups, geographic regions and a broad range of skills and knowledge of our country represented”.

It boasted that of the 33 MPs, there are six medical doctors, four attorneys-at-law, economists, administrators, as well as activists from the labour movement, practitioners in broadcasting and the media, and the business community.

There are 13 new members of Parliament, comprising of young women and men, as well as those who will bring more extensive experience with them.

“The Interior regions are well presented with four (4) strong leaders from the Amerindian communities. The 2020 team of 33 is comprised of new, young and seasoned leaders, as follows:

1. Prime Minister, Brigadier Mark Anthony Phillips
2. Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo
3. Mohabir Anil Nandlall
4.Gail Teixeira
5. Dr. Frank Christopher Stanislaus Anthony
6. Vickram Outar Bharrat
7. Zufikar Mustapha
8. Colin Croal
9. Nigel Dharamlall
10. Sonia Savitri Parag
11. Joseph Linden Fitzclarence Hamilton
12. Deodat Indar
13. Charles Shiva Ramson
14. Pauline Rose Ann Sukhai
15. Priya Manickchand
16. Dr. Vindhya Vasini Harshkumari Persaud
17. Juan Anthony Edghill
18. Hugh Todd
19. Susan Rodrigues
20. Warren Kwame Eusi Mc Coy
21. Alister Charlie
22. Dr. Vishwa Mahadeo
23. Yvonne Pearson Fredericks
24. Faizal M. Jaffarally
25. Sanjeev Jaichandra Datadin
26. Seepaul Narine
27. Anand Persaud
28. Dr. Bheri Sygmond Ramsaran
29. Dharamkumar Seeraj
30. Bhagmattie Veerasammy
31. Dr. Jennifer Reginalda Ann Westford
32. Dr. Tandika Smith
33. Lee Gendre Hakkim Williams

As provided for in the Constitution, the President has appointed Oneidge Walrond and Mr. Robeson Benn as Technocratic Ministers as neither were on the PPP/C List of Candidates to the National Assembly.

The PPP/C also intends to name Parliamentary Secretaries to sit in the National Assembly, in keeping with the Constitutional provisions, in the near future.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here