The Government of Guyana has appointed the Board of Directors of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo), which will be chaired by Pravinchandra Dave.

Dave is listed on the Demerara Bank Website page, as that institution’s Chief Executive Officer.

Dave has almost two decades of experience in the local banking system, and is expected to bring a wealth of knowledge to the sugar industry as plans move ahead to reopen three of four shuttered estates, the government said today.

Meanwhile, Anthony Vieira has been appointed Vice-Chairman of the Board. Vieira also brings much knowledge and experience to the sugar industry. He had served as the Director of Field Operations at GuySuCo in 2016, a statement said.

The Board also includes Ramesh Persaud, Tarachand Balgobin, Ray Hanoman, Shamira Evans, Shaleeza Shaw,Paul Cheong (Ex-Officio), Mohamed Rafeek, and Desmond Sears.

A Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) representative is still to be named. The Board is expected to serve for a period of one year, effective from September 3, 2020, to September 2, 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here