The Ministry of Finance National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) has come under new management, and Minister of Public Works, with responsibility for Finance, Bishop Juan Edghill has charged the Board to ensure that the entity is corruption-free.

The Minister tasked the new board to review the evaluators attached to NPTAB, with the view of ensuring that the work is done promptly.

He explained that time delays may be occurring at the evaluating level and must not be allowed to continue. Furthermore, Minister Edghill pointed out that these evaluators must be reminded that they work for the Government of Guyana and not for contractors, hence a full review of staff will be conducted to stamp out “skullduggery”.

He explained, “Your job, primarily in the first instance, would be to uphold the high principles of ensuring transparency, accountability, competitive bidding, good governance, value for money and ensuring that you create an architecture that is free from corruption.”

So far, Tarachand Balgobin has been appointed temporary Chairman of the Board, while Bernard Lord, Desmond Mohamed, Omar Narine, Steve Ninvalle, Mark Conway and Gloria Beharry will serve as Board Members. Minister Edghill congratulated the team, who was keen to note, has hundreds of years of experience when put together. Nonetheless, the Minister laid out his expectations for the new board.

The new temporary Chairman, Balgobin and Board Members expressed thanks to Minister Edghill for demonstrating confidence in them and vowed to fulfill their duties in the best of their abilities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here