The 39th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will take place at the Montego Bay Convention Centre in Jamaica between July 4 and 6.

The meeting will be held under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister of Jamaica, Andrew Holness. An Opening Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, July 4, from 4:00 pm (Jamaica time).  The Conference will welcome its newest Member, the Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Mottley, who was elected to office following the country’s May 24 General Elections.

The Conference will also welcome back, Prime Ministers Dr Keith Mitchell of Grenada and Gaston Browne of Antigua and Barbuda who were re-elected to office following general elections held on  March 13 and 21 March respectively.

These Heads are expected to address the opening ceremony along with the outgoing Chairman of the Conference, President Jovenel Moise of Haiti; the incoming Chairman, Prime Minister Holness; and the CARICOM Secretary-General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque.

The Heads of Government will meet in Plenary and Caucus on July 5 and 6 to deliberate on matters of importance to the Caribbean Community, including measures impacting the implementation of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME); Crime and Security in the Region and emerging geopolitical developments which can have an impact on the Region’s growth prospects.

The Caribbean Community has 15 Member States. They are Antigua and Barbuda,  Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. There are also five Associate Members: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here