Minister of State, Joseph Harmon revealed today at his post-Cabinet press conference, that a new Board of Directors of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) has been appointed.

The Board will serve for a period of two years from September 1, 2018, to August 31, 2020, and chaired by Agriculturist, John Dow. Other members of the board include John Browman, Richard Cumberbatch, Paul Cheong, Fritz Mc Lean, Vishnu Panday, Ramesh Persaud, Nowrang Persaud, Roy Hanoman and Claude Housty.

Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Corporation, Dr. Harold Davis Jr. will serve as an ex officio member of the Board.

The life of the previous board chaired by Professor Clive Thomas ended in April, last.

The CEO was appointed on August 1. The appointment comes as the efforts continue to return the industry to profitability following its restructuring.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here