Ballots cast in Electoral District Five (Mahaica/Berbice) during the March elections have been recounted. The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has now moved on to Regions Eight (Pomeroon/Supenaam) and 9 (Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), says the election body’s spokesperson, Yolanda Ward.

The two out of the 12 workstations that were assigned to recount the Region Five votes will now be allocated to commence the two new electoral districts, Ward confirmed.

So far, Regions One (Barima/Waini) and Two (Pomeroon/Supenaam) have been completed.

Ballots are now being recounted for Regions Three (Essequibo Islands/West Demerara); Four (Demerara/Mahaica); Six (East Berbice/Corentyne); Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni); Eight (Potaro/Siparuni); Nine (Upper Takatu/Upper Essequibo).
As of yesterday, GECOM would have completed 1,121, or 47.9% of the 2,339 boxes that contained ballots cast in these elections. The recount is being conducted at the Arthur Chung Convention Centre (ACCC), Liliendaal, Greater Georgetown.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here