Former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud says that he has no interest in being a minister under the new Irfaan Ali government, amidst claims made by the outgoing regime that he was side-lined.

Ali yesterday swore in 19 new ministers. Persaud was not one of them. The A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU) in a release to the media, said that Persaud was overlooked.

In a recent Facebook post, the former minister said that prior to the nomination of ministers, he made it clear that he had no interest in returning as a minister.

He wrote: “The APNU-AFC in seeking relevance has accused President Ali of side-lining myself, among others. This is cheap politicking. President Ali has been inclusive, and I have made it clear that I have no interest in a ministerial portfolio having served twice as a minister,”

He said that his services will be best utilized in other capacities in the interest of Guyana.

Commenting on the new Cabinet, Persaud said that it is one of the best Guyana has ever had in terms of competence, youth, experience, diversity, and a reflection of the aspirations of all our people.

“It’s a breath of fresh air. I encourage the APNU-AFC, as the main opposition, to be responsive and supportive of our President’s quest to unite, rebuild and transform our country,” he said.

The newly sworn-in Ministers of the Government are:

Zulfikar Mustapha – Minister of Agriculture
Pauline Sukhai- Minister of Amerindian Affairs
Charles Ramson- Minister of Culture, Youth & Sport
Priya Manickchand- Minister of Education
Hugh Todd- Minister of Foreign Affairs & International Cooperation
Dr. Frank Anthony- Minister of Health
Robeson Benn- Minister of Home Affairs
Colin Croal- Minister of Housing and Water
Susan Rodrigues- Minister within the Ministry of Housing and Water
Dr. Vindhya Persaud– Minister of Human Services and Social Security
Joseph Hamilton- Minister of Labour
Nigel Dharamlall- Minister of Local Government
Anand Persaud- Minister within Ministry of Local Government
Vickram Bharrat- Minister of Natural Resources
Kwame McCoy- Minister within the Office of Prime Minister
Sonia Parag- Minister of Public Service
Juan Edghill- Minister of Public Works
Deodat Indar- Minister within the Ministry of Public Works
Oneidge Allicock- Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here