The 44th Annual General Meeting of the Bar Association of Guyana was held on Wednesday via Zoom. As part of the proceedings, the Bar Council for the 2023-2024 fiscal year was elected. Ronald Burch-Smith was appointed unopposed, as President.

Guyana Standard understands that Burch-Smith previously served as President of the association from 2013-2015. Pauline Chase who, by the rules of the association was ineligible for re-election having served two consecutive terms, was elected unopposed as Vice-President. Teni Housty was re-elected as the second Vice-President.

Ashely King who served during the last term as Assistant Secretary was elected, also unopposed, to the post of Secretary, while Trevona Weekes was elected as the new Assistant Secretary. Yashmini Singh was returned as Treasurer of the association.

The other elected members of the Bar Council are Robin Stoby, SC, Jamela A. Ali, SC, Keoma D. Griffith, Kamal Ramkarran, Naresh Poonai and Horatio Edmonson.

Sandia Ramnarine served as the Returning Officer for this election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here