Cricket West Indies on Wednesday announced the 15 players selected for the West Indies Women’s Team to compete in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia from February 21- March 8.

Among the 15 selectees, three Guyanese were called up; veteran Shemaine Campbell, Sheneta Grimmond and newcomer Cherry-ann Fraser.

The team will be once again led by Stafanie Taylor with Deandra Dottin making her return to International cricket after eight months out following corrective surgery and rehabilitation.

In 2016, the West Indies women won their first ever ICC World Cup as part of a famous World Cup winning trifecta with the West Indies Men’s team and West Indies U19s.

In a correspondence to the media, Head of the CWI Women’s and Girls’ Selection Panel, Ann Browne-John, commented that the team was a complete balance of experience and new players.

“The World Cup squad continues to show a blend of experience and young emerging players. It is boosted by the return of Captain Stafanie Taylor who was out of the T20 series against India due to injury. We are also pleased to welcome back Deandra Dottin who made such a big impact on International cricket in the past few years until she was sidelined by injury. The two experienced fast bowlers Connell and Selman who have also been on the injured list are now back in the squad.”

Browne-John added, “Lee-Ann Kirby returns to the team after an extended absence but she has shown herself to be a prolific scorer. In addition, the introduction of the young fast bowler Cherry-Ann Fraser is ideal for the Australian pitches which are generally fast with some bounce. The team has the experience and talent to excel at the World Cup.”

The West Indies Women will play Pakistan in three warm-up matches in Brisbane ahead of the official start of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The first group match of the tournament will be played against Thailand on February 22 in Perth, followed by Pakistan on February 26 in Canberra, England on March 1 in Sydney and the final group stage match against South Africa on March 3, also in Sydney.

The squad reads:

Stafanie Taylor (Captain)
Anisa Mohammed (Vice Captain)
Deandra Dottin
Hayley Matthews
Chedean Nation
Lee-Ann Kirby
Britney Cooper
Shemaine Campbelle
Chinelle Henry
Afy Fletcher
Shamilia Connell
Shakera Selman
Sheneta Grimmond
Cherry-Ann Fraser
Aaliyah Alleyne



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here