Bent Street, Leopold Street, Rio All-Stars and Kingston are the remaining elements in the Magnum Tonic Wine Mashramani Cup Futsal Championship, following quarterfinal wins on Saturday at the National Gymnasium on Mandela Avenue.

Former champion Bent Street dismantled Sophia 7-2. Sheldon Holder fashioned a hat-trick in the 12th, 14th and 15th minute while Colin Nelson smashed a double in the 2nd and 26th minute. Adding goals were Daniel Wilson and Jermaine Beckles in the 20th and 29th minute respectively.

For Sophia, Dwayne Lowe scored in the 14th and 28th minute. They will now meet underdogs Kingston in the final four section on February 15th. Giant killer Kingston continued their impressive showing, disarming Spartacus by a 3-1 score.

Fresh off his hat-trick against Sparta Boss, Stephon Reynolds recorded another three goal blitz with conversions in the 19th, 21st and 24th minute to seal the win. For the loser, Simeon Moore netted in the 17th minute. On the other hand, Leopold Street will faceoff with Rio All-Stars in the other semi-final fixture.

Leopold Street downed fierce rival Gold is Money 3-1 in their quarterfinal encounter. Omallo Williams, Okeeny Fraser and Eon Alleyne netted in the 14th, 22nd and 25th minute respectively. For the loser, Andrew Murray was on target in the 17th minute.

Rio-All Stars crushed Back Circle 3-0. Second half goals from Job Caesar, Jermin Junior and Lennox Cort in the 22nd, 27th and 30th minute sealed the result.

In a post-match comment, tournament coordinator Esan Griffith said, “Once again another exciting night of action was witnessed, with the trend of upset results continuing. The tournament is now perfectly setup for an exciting conclusion on the 22nd. The quality of the remaining teams cannot be questioned as several high profile and established brands have fallen at the hands of emerging forces which highlights the competitive and unpredictable nature of the tournament.”

Winner of the event will pocket $700,000 and the championship trophy, while the second place side will collect $400,000 and the respective accolade. On the other hand, the third and fourth place unit will receive $200,000 and $100,000 respectively and the corresponding trophy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here