Director General of the Ministry of Presidency, Joseph Harmon has been appointed Chairman of the recently formed National COVID-19 Task Force (NTCF) sub-committee which will advise of social assistance. Other members of the sub-committee include Minister of Public Telecommunication, Cathy Hughes; Minister of Social Cohesion, Amna Ally and Minister of Business Haimraj Rajkumar, along with NCTF Secretary Imran Khan and a designated senior official from the Ministry of Finance.

The decision to set up the sub-committee was announced yesterday when the NCTF held another virtual meeting, during which a wide range of matters were considered. Following the confirmation of the first COVID-19 case back in March, President David Granger immediately issued a directive for the implementation of the NCTF. The Task Force headed by the Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo is responsible for the coordination and overseeing the measures being implemented by various frontline agencies and providing adequate support needed by those entities.

It also includes several ministers, among whom are Minister of Public Health, Volda Lawrence, Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Karen Cummings, Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix, Minister of Education, Dr. Nicolette Henry and Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here